Tuesday, December 01, 2009

Rupp to Chair Redistricting Committee

Senator Scott Rupp will chair the Senate committee tasked with oversight of redistricting Congressional districts following the 2010 Census.
Sen. Charlie Shields tapped Sen. Brad Lager as vice-chair; Democratic Minority Leader Victor Callahan will also serve on the committee.
"Redistricting is a key component to fairness in our government, and serving as chair is a once in a lifetime opportunity to affect the political landscape in a fair and equitable manner for generations to come," said Sen. Rupp in a statement.
By law, the Census Bureau must share its redistricting data with states by March 2011. The legislature must draw and approve new districts during the 2011 legislative session.
Sen. David Pearce, R-Warrensburg will serve as chairman of the Senate Education Committee.
Sen. Kurt Schaefer, R-Columbia is the new vice-chair of the Senate Appropriations Committee. Sen. Jim Lembke, R-St. Louis, becomes the newest member of the standing committee that drafts the state’s annual budget.

No comments: