Friday, April 04, 2008

Flood Victims Can File Taxes Late

Taxpayers in 35 Missouri counties approved for federal disaster assistance will get an extension to pay most of their taxes.

The announcement comes from Lieutenant Governor Peter Kinder, and could impact many Ozarks residents impacted by recent flooding.

Flood victims will now have until May 19th to file their 2007 returns.
“Missourians who have been devastated by this historic flooding will now have more time to focus on the fundamental task of returning their lives to normal,” Lt. Gov. Kinder said.

“Although, this simple extension will not recover lost belongings or replace damaged homes, it is our hope that moving this deadline will alleviate one more concern in this time of misfortune," he added.
Taxpayers in the following Ozarks counties qualify for the extension: Christian, Greene, Laclede, McDonald, Osage, Phelps, Pulaski, Shannon, Stone, Taney, Texas, and Webster. The Department of Revenue considers taxpayers who live in, have businesses in, or employ tax preparers in the affected counties eligible for the relief.

Missouri taxpayers who qualify need to indicate their eligibility for relief by including the phrase “Missouri Severe Storms and Flooding” at the top of their tax forms so the Department may take appropriate action.

No comments: