Monday, December 22, 2008

McCaskill Named Inaugural Co-Chair

Sen. Claire McCaskill has been selected as an honorary co-chair of President-Elect Barack Obama's Inauguration.

McCaskill joins three former presidents (Carter, Bush I & Clinton), and just two other Senators (Sen. Dick Durbin, Sen. Dick Lugar) to have the honor. In a statement, McCaskill said "it's exciting to be part of this important, historical day for our country."

Also notable: Openly gay Rep. Tammy Baldwin is also a co-chair. Obama has taken heat from the gay and lesbian community in recent days for naming evangelical Pastor Rick Warren to do the invocation.

The full list of Honorary Co-Chairs for the 2009 Presidential Inauguration is below:

President Jimmy Carter

President George H. W. Bush

President William J. Clinton

Mayor Adrian Fenty

Senator Dick Durbin

Senator Dick Lugar

Senator Claire McCaskill

Representative Tammy Baldwin

Representative Artur Davis

Representative Ray Lahood

Representative Linda Sánchez

General Colin Powell

Hunter and Kathleen Biden

Craig Robinson

Dr. Maya Soetoro-Ng

No comments: